HCUC congratulates winners of Host Idol Search Contest 2019


Three very talented young hosts have emerged champions of Host Idol Search Contest 2019 organised by Han Chiang University College of Communication (HCUC) held on July 13, 2019 at Gurney Plaza.

The champions are Puteri Nabila Binti Zulkefli from SMK Perlis (from Bahasa Malaysia category), Sentoash Naidu from Penang Free School (from English category), and Loh Yin Hui from SMJK Chio Min, (from Mandarin category).


The winners list is as follows:-

(from the Bahasa Malaysia category) Hana Humaira IIiqa Bt Amirkhalid from SMK Bakar Arang (second place), Haleemunnisa Mohamad Koya from Methodist Girls School (third place) and Linda Cheang Mei Le from Methodist Girls School (fourth place); (from the English category) Wong Kae Jing from SMK Perlis (second place), Nhantinii A/P Ramachandran from SMK (P) Methodist (third place), Grace Chai Jeng Swan from SMJK Pei Yuan (fourth place) and Wong Zhi Ying (consolation); (from the Mandarin category) Neng YI Qian from SMK Perlis (second place), Tan Tze Yi from SMJK Chio Min (third place) and Lee Chen Yun from SMJK Chio Min (fourth place).


They were among 13 secondary school students who took part in the finals after having successfully completed the earlier preliminary round. The respective champions won prizes and scholarships worth up to RM27,000.


The prizes are:

Champion (one for each category) Scholarship up to RM25,000, prizes worth RM2,000, certificate and trophy.

1st Runner up (one for each category) Scholarship up to RM12,500 , prizes worth RM1,500, certificate and trophy.

2nd Runner up (one for each category) Scholarship p to RM12,500, prizes worth RM1,000, certificate and trophy.

3rd Runner Up (one for each category) Scholarship up to RM6,250, prize worth RM800, certificate and trophy

Consolation (one for each category) Prizes worth RM500, certificate and trophy.


Loh Yin Hui was chosen as the Most Popular Host. She received a certificate and a trophy. SMK Perlis won the Most Supportive School title with a certificate and a trophy.

On hand to present the prizes to the winners was Dato’ Choo Chiang Meng, Supervisor, Board of Directors of Han Chiang. Also present were HCUC Vice Chancellor Dr Beh Kok Hooi and Deputy Vice Chancellor Miss Jenny Khoo Gim Hoon.

The judges for the finals were popular local news anchors Mr Owen Yap from 8TV, Mr Ivan Toh from RTM TV1 and Miss Tan Ley Teng from 8TV. 

video-admin | 13 Jul 2019 | Home News | News